In Sport News - Soccer

Super Eagles chief coach, Gernot Rohr hints at dropping Kenneth Omeruo from his squad. The young Nigerian Defender could miss the 2018 world cup squad except his club form improves immensely.

Other Players who may likely be dropped from the squad are Anthony Nwakaeme, Kayode Olanrewaju. However, both players have been fringe players during the qualifying campaign. Gernot Rohr has a 33 man list from which he will reveal the final 23 players for next years Mundial. According to the NFF, Gernot Rohr already has his first 15 players and will make the remaining eight additions after various friendly matches.



Super Eagles 33 Man List To The World Cup

The players who have been listed in the Super Eagles 33 man list are as follow. The Goalkeepers are Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Daniel Akpeyi, and Francis Uzoho. He also listed eight defenders which include William Troost Ekong, Leon Balogun, Elderson Echiejile, Shehu Abdullahi, Ola Aina, Tyronne Ebuehi and Bryan Idowu. Captain John Mikel Obi leads the midfield with Ogenyi Onazi, Wilfred Ndidi, John Ogu, Alex Iwobi and Ogenekaro Etebo.

The attackers are Odion Ighalo, Moses Simon, and England based trio Victor Moses, Kelechi Iheanacho and Ahmed Musa. The Super Eagles players also on standby are Mikel Agu, Kenneth Omeruo, Chidozie Awaziem and Vincent Enyeama. The Super Eagles went to the previous world cup with three goalkeepers, eight defenders, five midfielders and seven attackers.

Recommended Posts